RentAnEDU.com Review. A MEGA Scam Revealed

Hi. In this blog post I will reveal a MEGA scam that I’ve been personally fall into and I wanted to be sure that you don’t fall in this too, so that you can save your money (like up to $800/month?!) and time (like months). I am also going to reveal a SEO (Search Engine Optimization) secret that will help you rank your website higher by doing proper and white-hat SEO.

So in this post I just wanted to “protect” you from a website named RentAnEdu.com. This service is created by a very famous marketer that makes millions online.

When you visit the website you will see that the marketer has successfully ranked his CambridgeBusinessAcademy.com and DotComSecrets.com websites for some of the most competitive and famous keyword phrases in the world such as “make money”, “make money online” etc.

The first website has an Alexa rank of 68.831 and the second is at 9.339! WOW, so it means these websites receive lots of FREE traffic! YES these websites receive thousands of visitors every day. In the video they are saying that the websites got ranked #1 in less than 14 days without doing any SEO.

So it means that the RentAnEdu.com method is legitimate and really works?!

Hm… not exactly..

Let’s see how RentAnEdu.com works.

How RentAnEdu.com Works?

Step 1: You get a yourfakedirectory.university.edu.pe sub-domain from Peru’s International University’s website (in reality this university doesn’t exist!). You are getting a keyword rich link directory on a fake .edu website!

Step 2: You choose a keyword phrase that you want to rank your website(s) for, for example “make money” etc. You then make a search on Google for that keyword phrase and you contact the first 30 website owners asking them if they can link back to you from their website.

But why should they do that? Because you are going to offer them an .edu link! If you are doing SEO then you know the value of having .edu backlinks. Every internet marketer wants these backlinks because the search engines are giving more link juice to your website. More backlinks value means higher search engines ranking and that means more money in your pocket! Simple! And who doesn’t want this for FREE?!  All they have to do is give a FREE link back to your website.

So What’s Wrong With This Website/Service?

Well by applying the RentAnEdu.com technique you are basically scamming other marketers/webmasters by giving them a free link from your  fake .edu website (subdomain) in exchange for a back link to your real website(s).

“But it worked for the famous marketer so I don’t care.. Isn’t it Andreas?”

Well both of his websites were already authority websites and were ranking for several competitive keywords for many years before applying this technique. That’s not from doing a 14-day SEO!

Not only this, but I’ve checked the domains as well to see if they have any .edu backlinks, but I couldn’t find any!

Where are the .edu backlinks that skyrocket his websites, on the first results of the search engines?! I know that the search engines are not revealing everything but not seeing a single .edu backlink looks very suspicious.

If you get a backlink from an .edu website then it can get you more value than any other backlink. But with this program you are “scamming” other people thinking that they get an .edu backlink so that you can get backlinks to your website and that’s called black hat! And the worst of all is that you are doing this WITHOUT even knowing it!

I didn’t know so I was paying $97 per month although I haven’t tried it yet. The worst of all is that I could pay them to do the work for me (manually link request) for $300, $500 and even $800 PER MONTH! Yikes! :-0


Oh and in case you were wondering which this FAKE university is, its called “International University Of Peru” and the fake address is www.university.edu.pe

(I don’t even want to give them a backlink from my blog so you have to copy and paste the link into your web browser to see the website.. :))

Why fake? Well according to Wikipedia there is NO university called “International University Of Peru” in Peru.

Also have a look on the university’s web pages.

http://www.university.edu.pe/our-courses.html

http://www.university.edu.pe/practical-information.html

Same content… saying nothing about courses…

And here: http://www.university.edu.pe/contact-us.html

There is NO contact information…

Hm.. I wonder how can they get new students if they don’t have any contact information?! Only by email??! (You can find one above). Where is the telephone?! Real universities have one of those..

Don’t Waste Your Money On This Scam!

Arg!! As it seems this was another of those products that are misleading YOU (and me), wasting your money and time! I’ve just saved you at least $97 / month and countless of lost hours!

And to be honest I feel embarrassed for falling into this scam but hey thankfully, I figured it out before giving out fake .edu backlinks my self too and have this change to protect you from falling in this scam too!

So, AVOID RentAnEdu.com and save your $97/month money today. You can invest that money somewhere else, on something that really works!

Although this technique of this fake service is not about getting yourself .edu backlinks but for other marketers/webmasters here is how to get REAL .edu backlinks to YOUR website and get those valuable backlinks.

Read the Edu Backlink Bonanza report by clicking here and you will be amazed. And no, it will not cost you $97/month! Not even close that price. Just pure content, showing you how to get REAL .edu backlinks to YOUR website at a one time low price. Click here to find out more.

Ok that was this post. So if you want me to give you more product reviews (both bad and good) just let me know! As always I would love to read your comments!

Take care,

Andreas

Tags: ,

24 Comments

Leave a comment
  1. Steen Rasmussen January 21, 2011 at 22:20 #

    The service you were hock op to is free with google, some people do not care about and just take money from as many as they could sorry this happens but you not the only one who have pay for some fake.

  2. Jerry@Persuasive Writing January 22, 2011 at 02:31 #

    Hey thanks for the heads up Andreas, I’ll stay far away from RentAnEDU.com. $800.00 a month…Ouch!
    Yeah it seems like these mega scams come around every now and then, at least we won’t get caught up in this one now!

  3. Fran January 22, 2011 at 04:06 #

    I like your reviews. Unfortunately, I agree with you about this particular marketer. If I can only make contact by email ticket or an 800 number and never get a person then all this person wants is my money. They don’t care about anything but my money in their pocket. I RUN from them now and I have unsubscribed from them AND the ones who promote their products. Keep sharing your reviews. Hopefully, it will help save someone money AND time.

    Fran

  4. Fran January 22, 2011 at 04:32 #

    OOPS!

    I was so upset by the marketer that I forgot to thank you for you timely advice. You have always been very truthful and more than helpful anytime I have asked questions. I do appreciate everything you write. Thanks, again, Andreas!

  5. K Mec January 22, 2011 at 11:40 #

    It’s really shocking.I got many mails regarding this before few days, Thank God I have not invested in.

  6. AndreasSpyrou January 22, 2011 at 11:57 #

    Thank you Fran for your good comments.

    Well you can do whatever you want when you have a list of 500.000 subscribers. Perhaps that marketer has even a million subscribers! When you have that kind of list they think that they can offer anything!

    Anyhow they DID stop the recurring payment of $97 after 4 hours which is good.

    Take care,
    Andreas

  7. AndreasSpyrou January 22, 2011 at 12:05 #

    Thank you Fran. I am just trying to do my best.! :)
    And THANK YOU for taking the time for thanking me because it gives me the impetus to help you more.

    Take care,
    Andreas

    PS.
    Your blog is still up so you took my advice I believe.
    I hope you will continue writing more and helping people with an inflammation problem.

  8. AndreasSpyrou January 22, 2011 at 12:12 #

    Hi K Mec,

    Yes indeed its really shocking paying up to $800/month or even ONLY $97 for scamming other people! I am so glad that I’ve saved your hard-earned money.

    Tale care,
    Andreas

  9. AndreasSpyrou January 22, 2011 at 12:18 #

    Hi Steen,

    Yes you can try this method for free (asking for backlinks) from the persons that are already running for your selected keyword phrases. However you will STILL need to offer them an .edu backlink! This is what the marketer is trying to give you. An .edu directory. Thanks but NO, I will not it because you know you are scamming other giving them a FAKE .edu backlink.

    Take care,
    Andreas

  10. AndreasSpyrou January 22, 2011 at 12:26 #

    You welcome Jerry,

    Can you believe that there could be people out there investing $800/month on it?! Yes that’s a BIG OUCH!

    I am so glad that I could help at least my subscribers and my readers.

    Take care,
    Andreas

  11. Sally January 25, 2011 at 23:15 #

    Hey Andreas (told ya I would be back)

    OMG that;s just plain robbery!

    How these people / sites get away with this kinda stuff is beyond me.

    TBH I had not even heard of it, but thank you for pointing it out, just shows what an honest marketer you are.

    Sally :)

  12. AndreasSpyrou January 25, 2011 at 23:47 #

    Hey Sally,

    Actually I cant believe that you are back. It seems that I am doing well with your new rules.. :)

    Thank for coming by and for your good words. As always say, I am just trying to help people as much I can.

    Yes it is a completely robbery. But why care? They are already millionaires having really BIG lists and can sell anything very easily..

    And then you wonder why newbies struggle online!

    Take care,
    Andreas

  13. Jacinta D February 2, 2011 at 05:33 #

    Hi Andreas,

    All I can say is WOW and $%^&!

    Thank you for pointing out the scam! That is incredible!

    Are people that desperate that they would scam other people just to get to the top of google??????? definitely don’t like that kind of marketing!

    Yes on more reviews. I think the more reviews out there both good and bad the more informed people can be!

    I hope everything is going well!

    See you back here soon! :cool:

    Cheers

    Jacinta :D

  14. AndreasSpyrou February 2, 2011 at 19:51 #

    Hi Jacinta!

    Thank you for your Fantastic words. I am just trying to help others as more as I can.
    Yes neither do I like this kind of marketing. With this “method” most people (if not all) will be scamming other people without even knowing it! Good that I pointed this out before I started trying it. Yes it would help me have better rankings but not by paying a faked .edu directory.. :)

    I will definitely try writing more honest reviews in the future, so keep an eye! :) (I might be more honest and helpful than John Thornhill! LOL :) )

    C ya Jacinta!

    Take care,
    Andreas

    PS. You are a Fantastic person and I wish you have the most Fabulous days with your Family and Friends down there in Australia! :)

  15. Dawn Kay February 19, 2011 at 19:50 #

    Hi Andreas

    I can’t believe people scam you like this. How do they sleep at night that’s what I want to know.

    I’m so sorry you’ve wasted your money but at least you can stop other people from falling for this scam too.

    That’s why I like reading your blog Andreas because you look out for your readers.

    Take care

    Dawn Kay

  16. AndreasSpyrou February 19, 2011 at 20:09 #

    Hi Dawn,

    Thank you for your good words.

    I cant either believe it, but what can we do?! All I can do is to protect my subscribers and blog readers.

    Well if you dont spend money on a product or a service then you will never know if it worths it or not.

    Take care,
    Andreas

  17. jen May 15, 2011 at 05:08 #

    I quit my job at the start of this year to go full time doing internet marketing and am making slightly less than I was when I was working but the lifestyle is what I wanted. I mainly focus on what most people would call blackhat tactics and putting up 100s of sites a month with the hope of making some money from a few (throw enough at the wall and it sticks).

    This is not really what I would even class as blackhat, its just a fraudulent scam, nothing seo about it, just a scam.

    Thanks for outing this outfit, I bet I know the “famous” person behind this and I bet his name begins with the letter “h” – scumbag!

  18. AndreasSpyrou June 1, 2011 at 20:30 #

    Hi Jen,

    Thank you for your comment and congratulations for doing full time internet marketing. If you are honest and take care of your subscribers, blog readers and website visitors then you will be making much more one day.

    100s of websites a month?! Wow! I am sure you are going to get some real results and learn what works and what doesnt from first hand, which niches are the easiest and best to profit etc.

    I wish you all the best whatever you are doing to make money online.

    Regarding the RentAnEdu service. Absolutely SCAM! You are right not even a blackhat SEO method.

    The “famous” person’s name begins with the letter “R”. Not sure who that “H” marketer is. But I am sure more people are behind this..

    Take care,
    Andreas

    PS. Once again thanks for commenting. Come back for more reviews. If you need anything just let me know!

  19. danika June 27, 2011 at 21:48 #

    Forgive me if this is a stupid question but are .edu sites not looked after in a way that stops people from been able to pimp them out like this? I didnt think just anyone could register an edu?

  20. AndreasSpyrou June 27, 2011 at 23:37 #

    Hi Danika,

    Dont worry. No question is stupid.

    Its NOT possible for anyone to register a .edu domain.

    Registering a .edu is limited to postsecondary U.S. institutions that are institutionally accredited, i.e., the entire institution and not just particular programs, by agencies on the U.S. Department of Education’s list of Nationally Recognized Accrediting Agencies.

    The scam here is that the owner rents you a subdomain after a special deal with the university etc.. But this .edu domain is a FAKE .edu

    Take care,
    Andreas

    On the other hand you can climb higher into the search engines by having lots of backlinks from differnt REAL .edu websites. This is POSSIBLE. Read the .Edu Backlink Bonanza report at:
    http://www.andreasspyrou.com/recommends/edubacklinkbonanza

  21. David Taylor July 20, 2011 at 00:49 #

    Hey Andreas,

    I’m shocked to hear this.

    Sounds like it was developed as a scam right from the start. Make a fake university, get a website for it then charge people to offer links to that site. Good way to get hated by lots of people.

    It’s unfortunate that you got taken in but good that you found out. Now you can get on with building an honest business ethically.

    All the best with it,

    David

  22. AndreasSpyrou July 20, 2011 at 17:02 #

    Hey David,

    Yes is shocking isnt it? And the worst think is that we get fooled by more and more scams every day!

    I hope I, you, other “unknown” ethical marketers or known marketers like John Thornhill, Omar Martin can make a difference in the IM industry.

    Take care,
    Andreas

  23. Kathy Dobson July 21, 2011 at 04:14 #

    Hi Andreas,
    Wow, what a post!
    Unfortunately, I have a feeling that this is the same marketer that got himself in some trouble before.

    He is definitely one to stay away from!

    This is priceless information and I will be sure and frequent your blog frequently to keep up with any scams you may hear about.
    You just can’t be too careful in this game.
    Thanks for the great post Andreas,
    Kathy

  24. AndreasSpyrou July 24, 2011 at 11:47 #

    Hey Kathy!

    We just dont know whom to trust nowadays. I hope your “trouble” with marketers like this is solved.

    Thank you for your good words! Scams are everywhere and are hurting our business and unfortunately lots of people think that EVERYTHING online is a scam. Thankfully there are services like IM TrustWorthy by Omar Martin (http://www.andreasspyrou.com/recommends/imtrustworthy) that helps gather out a large percentage of the “bad” products.

    Talk to you soon.

    Take care,
    Andreas

Leave a Reply